The Waiting Game

Posted: July 16, 2011 in Kate's thoughts

This picture describes how I feel at this stage of pregnancy. Impatient! Our baby Samuel is due tomorrow (July 17th) but I was really hoping he’d be here by now! Let’s suffice to say that God’s reminding me a thing or 2 (with or without my permission) about waiting. 🙂 I seem to have forgotten how agonizing & miserable pregnancy can be at the end! I’m sure it’s not by accident that my memories of the hardship of 3rd trimester pregnancy & the agony of child-birth were immediately replaced with the pure excitement & elation that greeted my heart by the precious new family member we welcomed to our family the last time I went through this process (our amazing 2 year old daughter, Reyah).

I have been “encouraging myself” with various Scriptures on waiting & realize that it’s a very normal & purposeful part of life. I read some things this morning that challenged my comfort & convenience.  To follow in the footsteps of Jesus, I must be willing to lay down my life & self-fulfillment in order to be faithful to the eternal purpose & process God has created in bringing a new life into the world. It’s a rather beautiful thing, really.

This season of feeling uncomfortable, out of control, having my body invaded, lacking sleep, feeling fat, nauseated & insecure is a temporary one (thank God!). When I think of the love I will soon have for my new baby boy, the years of joy & blessing that he will bring to our lives & the future plans & purposes that God has for his life – it makes the “temporary loan” of my body & it’s dis-comforts all worth it in the end.

So, with God’s grace – I will try to do a few things while I wait. And I’m sure I will re-visit this post in the future when I’m tempted to throw in the towel & scream at the top of my lungs with impatience in other areas of life:

1. Choose to surrender & yield my rights to God – knowing that He knows best & has only good in store for me.

2. Choose to trust & hope in the Lord by worshiping God with my thoughts, attitudes, words & actions.

3. Choose joy & positivity.  I may be miserable – but broadcasting & spewing complaints, bad attitudes, a short temper & demands upon my friends & family doesn’t really make me feel better or do anyone else any good.

Here are some verses I am holding onto! If you are in a season of waiting – may they strengthen & comfort you as well!

Isaiah 40:31 – “They that wait upon the Lord will renew their strength; they will mount up with wings as eagles. They will run & not grow weary, they will walk & not be faint.”

Habakkuk 2:3 – “The vision is for an appointed time. Tho it tarry, wait for it. It will surely come.”

Isaiah 64:4 – “Since ancient times, no one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God beside You who acts on behalf of those who wait for Him.”

Psalm 33:20 – “We wait in hope for the Lord for He is our help & shield.”

Psalm 37:7 – “Be still before the Lord & wait patiently for Him.”

Psalm 104:27 – “All creatures look to You to give them their food at the proper time.”

Proverbs 14:29 –  “Whoever is patient has great understanding but one who is quick tempered displays folly.”

Phillippians 1:6 –  “Being confident of this, that He who began a good work in me will carry it onto completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

